To Race Or Not To Race…

That is the (cliched and trite) question.

Post-CLICO race in January, with tacky race hat and watermelon

I am in a bit of a quandary.  There’s a race going on this Saturday and I have been procrastinating like crazy about signing up.  I should have signed up this weekend, but didn’t feel like heading to the mall to sign up (many races here have you sign up at one of the chain sports stores.)  Then on Monday, I took too long buying fabric and reasoned that I’d miss my chance to get a good swim in if I went to sign up.  Today, I didn’t want to tack on the trip to a routine outing, and traffic looked crazy, so….

Excuses, excuses.  I know that the problem isn’t my general distaste for sitting in traffic to go to the mall.  The problem is that, for the first time since I started racing almost a year ago, I’m not sure I want to sign up for a race.

And a race at 2:45 pm?  In the 94 F, full-blaze sun and heat of Trinidad?  You get the picture.

So, instead of making myself nutty and muttering to myself/the Husband/the dog about how I’m going back and forth on signing up, I though I’d come up with some pros and cons–and put the question to you, my informed peeps!

Pros of racing this Saturday:

  • I haven’t raced since January.  It’s been too long since I’ve witnessed a good soca-music pre-race warmup, felt the jittery race excitement, and felt like a celebrity while the Husband snaps away and acts like my personal paparazzi.
  • Because I haven’t raced in a while, my tacky race T-shirt collection is sadly stalled at the moment.
  • After races, we always hit up a great local pub for big greasy burgers and plenty of ice-cold beer, and the food never tastes as great as it does after a race.
  • I ran a 3 pm race back  in September with a touch of a stomach bug, and it was one of the most uncomfortable experiences of my life.  I’m dying to prove to myself that THAT awful race was a fluke and that I’ve become a much more finely-tuned (and better  hydrated) runner since then.
  • I best get my Trinidad 5K on–because the next scheduled one at the moment isn’t going down until mid-September.

Cons of Saturday’s race:

  • The heat. The heat. The heat.
  • The smog and traffic and pollution of a 2:45 pm race–I’m not sure I want to spend a week hacking up the finest of T and T’s dust and diesel.
  • I don’t need another tacky race T-shirt just yet, as I snagged an election T-shirt last weekend and it is quite possibly the coolest/tackiest thing I’ve ever laid eyes on.
  • I’m getting over a stomach bug, so I don’t feel my strongest, and I’m ridiculously scared of reliving THAT race (3 pm Newsday race death-on-the-road) again.
  • I don’t see why I need to prove to myself that I can do something as uncomfortable as raise my heart rate to 180 bpm for 30 minutes in that heat.  It’s a bit silly, frankly, when I think about it–if it sucks, I don’t see why I need to do it.
  • There are quite a few races in Buffalo during the weeks that I’ll be home.  So, though the next T and T race isn’t for months, I’ll get plenty of chances to race in the comparatively cool and breezy Buffalo summer.

As you can see, there’s plenty of basis (silly or not) for my indecision.  So tell me, guru-peeps, what would you do? And have you ever felt similarly about a race or sporting event?

____________

In the sphere of things that I decisively did today….

I ran a pretty nice three miles.  I had really wanted to run four miles, but I set off a bit nervous about the echoes of the stomach bug. So I told myself that I’d feel better for at least trying (and promised myself that I would not think myself the World’s Biggest Wimp if I decided to walk–it’s not that I think that walking is wimpy, but if I’m going to get up at 6 am it’s going to be for a run, not for a walk that I can do later in the day).  Well, the stomach was absolutely fine until mile 2.75, at which point it complained a bit.  I decided I’d rather walk away happy after three miles than miserable after four, so three were run and one was walked.  It felt great not to self-flagellate, I tell you.

I wore clothes, but they were a step up from pajamas.  I wore what was technically a beach/house dress, but as it’s a bit on the skimpy side on top, there’s no picture (sorry, but nope!)  I have to say, after a day in what amounted to pajamas with a zipper, I felt pretty rank.  I need clothes and all the attendant glamour of , um, wearing mascara, so I showered at 7 and started fresh, mascara and all.  I felt infinitely better.  Lesson learned.  Proper clothing (and mascara) will be de rigeur from now on.

The sole food picture of the day today comes courtesy of my lunch–fried eggs with bruschetta on the side:

I know that bruschetta belongs on proper Italian bread, but it’s either sandwich bread or nothing at all here, so I suspend all my food snobbiness for bruschetta.  And you know what?  It was pretty awesome, and will definitely be happening more often.

Night y’all!

2 Responses

  1. I think TRAINING is great if you need a way to motivate yourself to work out but I think you don’t need to race for that purpose right now. I mean, “beer tastes better after a run…” lol…come on. And I think racing is a huge logistical hassle!!! So I vote no on this race.

  2. I am with Rachel…I run like I am training for a race but I personally am not a big fan of races (too claustrophobic for me)…and 94 degree hit in T & T would make it unbearable.

    Plus like you said, there are plenty of race options when you are in Buffalo.

    I’m actually glad to hear someone else in a race conundrum b/c sometimes I feel like I am the only health blogger who runs but doesn’t like to run in races!

Leave a Reply

